Shopping with Kids

Shopping with kids can be a challenge, especially when you have more than one of them with you.  Frequently they don’t want to ride in the cart and they can’t keep their hands to themselves.

This is sometimes true of my boys.  Overall, they are pretty good shoppers but every once in awhile we’ll have one of those days, like today.  They both wanted to walk which was fine but they have this compulsive need to touch everything!  They touch the merchandise and they touch each other!  A mom can only say, “Stop touching things” so many times!

I find it helpful to have a few activities for kids in mind when you go shopping.  So here’s one of the tips for shopping with kids that I used today:

We talked about prices of products.  We needed to get some groceries and we were at a Super Walmart so I took a moment to point out the price tags on the shelves.  I showed my younger one which number was the price and I showed my older one how they have the price broken down into how much it costs per ounce.  Then we talked about how to figure out which product was the least expensive.

I also assigned each child an item that they were responsible for being on the look out for.  My older son was in charge of pizza sauce and the younger was in charge of marshmallows.  Each aisle we turned down I’d remind them what they were looking for.  These are great ideas because they get the children involved in the shopping.  This helped to keep my boys much more on task and seemed to stop them from touching everything – they had a mission and a responsibility.

When we finally found the marshmallows there were 4 different brands to choose from.  My older son was quick to discover which the best buy were but I used it as an opportunity to discuss numbers with my younger son.  One bag was $0.12 an ounce, another was $0.11 and the third was $0.10.  I asked him which was the smallest number and we briefly discussed number order.

So, on this trip we not only got the groceries but we did a little math along the way.  If you’re short on time you might not have the time to discuss which products are priced lower but you could still assign each child an item to look for.

Have fun shopping with your kids!

About ActivitiesWithKids

I'm just a mom who wants to share fun times and fond memories with my little men before time wisks them away into the men they are to become. I hope you find some activities and ideas here that you can share with your precious ones too.
This entry was posted in Activities with kids, Shopping with Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

